Stadion An der Alten Försterei
The stadium „An der Alten Försterei“ is in the district Berlin-Köpenick. 19.000 spectators fit in the stadium. Without a track, it is the biggest real football stadium in berlin. A forestry house in the neighbourhood was the name giver for the stadium name. After the opening in august 1920 the look of the stadium changed a lot. The main modernizations were the installation of floodlights in december 2000 and a construction of a roof from june 2008 till july 2009. The building work in 2008 was very special and worldwide unique. Just with the help of sponsors and over 2500 volunteers, 1. FC Union Berlin modernized its traditional stadium and saved many millions. With a train-station nearly the stadium, it a good connection to the public traffic system of Berlin.
The first game was on the 17th march 1920, “Union Öberschöneweide”
(previous club of 1. FC Union Berlin) played 1:1 against “Viktoria 89 Berlin”. After many little extensions of the stadium (52, 55, 70), there was a big expansion in the eighties. Hundreds of Union supporters helped to modernize the stadium. On 2 June in 2008 a very special and worldwide unique project started, just with the help of many sponsors and over 2500 volunteers, Union modernized its stadium. After the remodeling, on 8 July in 2008 Union played against the city rival “Hertha BSC” to open the new Stadium.
Facts and Figures
The stadium “An der Alten Försterei” is the venue for the home games of 1. FC Union Berlin. A bowlingcenter, sportshall and six practice grounds belong to the areal. The facilities and premises are suitable for concerts, exhibitions and special events. 19.000 people fit in the stadium. The playing area is 109 x 73 meter.